Atoll Achensee

The foundation stone was laid in March 2017, and on 30th July 2018 the top-modern leisure centre opened its doors to the public. Located directly on the south-eastern shore of Lake Achensee in the district Buchau, the Atoll will become the new recreation hotspot for all ages, offering year-round entertainment and activity opportunities on 6,500 square metres. Atoll Achensee: The perfect experience to brighten up a rainy day.

Atoll Achensee - view from the lake ©Atoll Achensee

©Atoll Achensee

The heart of the stunning leisure centre is the rooftop infinity POOL, the penthouse SPA for heavenly relaxing moments, the spacious Lakeside GYM with view of the Achensee and the BOULDERING hall featuring a climbing area of 180m². Built with lots of glass and light-coloured wood, the ultra-modern facility has been harmoniously integrated into the landscape in the district of Buchau in Maurach.

The bathing BEACH featuring the SPORTS area and FAMILY Eldorado plus three bathing piers will also be completely remodelled. Visitors to the new tourist attraction can expect a high-quality indoor and outdoor gastronomic offer.

In winter, the Atoll will transform into a winter wonderland featuring an artificial ice skating and ice stock rink. The fence surrounding the area will be opened to allow the cross-country ski trail to run alongside the lake.

The original meaning of atoll is a ring-shaped reef, island, or chain of islands formed of coral. This definition has been transferred to the new leisure centre. The edifice resembles a large drop, and its kidney-shaped architecture encompasses several “adventure islands” – hence the name Atoll. The circular design continues through the entire edifice – from the lamps, tables and seating areas to the information desks.

Start-up

On 30th July 2018 the top-modern leisure centre opened its doors to the public. Click here to view the construction progress live.

Attractions at a glance

  • Panoramic Indoor POOL
    • 25-metre sports pool
    • Family/non-swimmer pool, indoor and outdoor
    • Water fun play area
    • Water slide
    • Counter current system
    • Pool floor massage effect air bubble generator
    • Hydromassage jet bubblers in various heights
    • Hydromassage benches and seats
  • Penthouse SPA
    • Steam bath
    • Large multi-person infrared cabin
    • Finnish sauna with infusions
    • Chromotherapy soft sauna
    • Herbal steam bath
    • Kneipp area with foot baths
    • Wooden outdoor relaxation deck
    • Outdoor diving pool 2m³
    • Rooftop infinity pool and outdoor swimming area
  • More highlights
    • FAMILY Eldorado: Adventure play ship “St Benedikt”, outdoor area with play tower, suspension bridge, Flying Fox, bird’s nest tree, low rope course, climbing net, tube slides, swing, seesaw, XXL sandpit with awning, children’s beach and sun decks
    • Gastronomy: Restaurant in the panoramic POOL area, restaurant in the foyer and terrace restaurant, bistro in the penthouse SPA, fitness bar in the lakeside GYM and SNACK shops (kiosk and ice cream pavilion)
    • BOULDERING hall featuring 180m² climbing area and 1,400 grips at various levels of difficulty
    • Lakeside GYM (fitness centre) featuring state-of-the-art training equipment and view of the lake
    • Welcome CENTRE of the Achensee Tourist Board in the foyer including Atoll Achensee SHOP
    • Lakeside BEACH (sitting area, 13,400m² hilly landscape with sunbathing lawn and groups of trees, 3 bathing piers, children’s beach, sandbank, sun decks)
    • SPORTS area (beach volley court, tchoukball, tennis, slacklines, motor skills activity garden, football, wetsuit swimming)
    • 600m² public ice rink for skating/ice stock sports
    • Atoll Terminal: Charging station for electric cars and bikes, 120 bicycle parking spaces, 430 car parking spaces, parking spaces for buses, bus stop

Adventure Ship St Benedikt

Small and large guests can look forward to the adventure ship St Benedikt. The 31-metre long ship, which has been taken out of service after cruising on Lake Achensee for almost 60 years, will become an entertainment venue for games and events.

Architecture

Resembling a drop of water, the architecture of the Atoll Achensee blends “floatingly” with the environment and integrates into the landscape on the lakeside near the Buchau bathing beach in Maurach. The droplet symbolizes the smallest quantity of Lake Achensee’s large amount of water and sets the basic design element for the ground plan, the curved facade and roof silhouette. Due to the sensitive building site on the banks of Lake Achensee, great importance was placed to a harmonious embedding into the surrounding nature. The sustainable energy concept of the building is exemplary: Deep wells and heat pumps ensure a completely CO2-neutral energy production for the entire site. Hence, the Atoll Achensee also sets down a marker of ecological sustainability in the region.

For more information about the new Atoll Achensee visit www.atoll-achensee.com

Atoll Achensee

Im März 2017 war die Grundsteinlegung, seit dem 30. Juli 2018 ist die hochmoderne Freizeit-Attraktion nach langjähriger Planung in Maurach direkt am Südostufer des Achensees in Betrieb. Auf über 6.500 Quadratmeter wird ein tolles abwechslungsreiches Erlebnisangebot für alle Altersklassen für Gäste und Einheimische gleichermaßen geschaffen. Das Atoll wird der Sonnenstrahl an Schlechtwettertagen sein. 

Das Herzstück der außergewöhnlichen Anlage ist der Infinity Pool am Dach, das Penthouse-SPA zum Träumen, der großzügige Lakeside-GYM mit Blick auf den Achensee und die BOULDER-Halle mit 180m² Kletterfläche. Mit viel Glas und hellem Holz wurde die hochmoderne Anlage harmonisch in die Uferlandschaft im Ortsteil Buchau in Maurach integriert.

Das zum Areal dazu gehörende SEE-Bad  mit SPORTS-Area und FAMILY Eldorado sowie drei Bade-Plattformen wird komplett neugestaltet. Das hochwertige Gastronomieangebot im Innen- und Außenbereich rundet das Angebot ab.

Im Winter wird das Atoll Achensee zum Winter-Wonderland und punktet mit einem Kunsteislaufplatz samt Eisstockbahn. Der Zaun, der das Areal umschließt, wird geöffnet, sodass die Langlaufloipe am See gezogen werden kann.

In seiner ursprünglichen Bedeutung steht das Wort Atoll für eine ringförmige Koralleninsel. Diese Bedeutung wird auf die neue Freizeitanlage übertragen, die in ihrer architektonischen Tropfen- bzw. Nierenform ringförmig anmutet. Die verschiedenen Erlebnisinseln sind ringförmig angeordnet – daher der Name Atoll. Diese runde Linie zieht sich durch die gesamte Architektur – von der Lampe, über Tische, Sitzgelegenheiten bis hin zu den Info-Pulten.

Inbetriebnahme

Seit dem 30. Juli 2018 ist das neue Atoll Achensee in Betrieb. Wie sich der Bau der Freizeitanlage in den letzten Monaten, Wochen und Tagen entwickelte, können Sie hier live miterleben.

Attraktionen auf einen Blick

  • Panorama-BAD
    • 25-Meter-Sportbecken
    • Familien-/Nichtschwimmerbecken, innen und außen
    • Wasserspielplatz
    • Rutsche
    • Strömungskanal
    • Bodenblubber/-geysire
    • Massagedüsen in unterschiedlicher Höhe
    • Sprudelliegen & -sitze
  • Penthouse-SPA
    • Dampfbad
    • Infrarot-Großraumkabine
    • Finnische Aufgusssauna
    • Bio-und Farblichtsauna
    • Kräutersudsauna
    • Kneippbereich mit Fußbecken
    • Außen-Liegedecks aus Holz
    • Entspannungs- und Relaxräume innen
    • Tauchbecken mit 2m³ im Freien
    • Freiluft-Schwimmbereich am Dach mit Infinity-Pool
  • weitere Highlights
    • FAMILY Eldorado: Adventure Spiel-Schiff “St. Benedikt”, Außenbereich mit Spielturm, Hängebrücke, Flying Fox, Vogelnestbaum, Niederseilgarten, Kletternetz, Breit- und Röhrenrutsche, Kontaktschaukel & Wippenensemble, XXL-Sandkiste mit Sonnensegel, Kinder-Strand und Liegedecks
    • Erlebnis-GASTRO: Restaurant im Panorama-BAD, Restaurant im Eingangsbereich mit Terrassen-Restaurant, Bistro im Penthouse-SPA, eine Fitness-Bar im Lakeside-GYM und Snack-SHOPS (Kiosk und Eis-Pavillon)
    • BOULDER-Halle mit 180m² Kletterfläche und 1400 Griffen in unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsstufen
    • Lakeside-GYM (Fitness-Studio) mit Premiumgeräten und Seeblick
    • Welcome-CENTER des Tourismusverbandes Achensee im Eingangsbereich mit Atoll Achensee SHOP
    • SEE-Bad (Sitz-Atrium, 13.400m² Hügellandschaft mit Liegewiese und Bauminseln, 3 Bade-Plattformen, Kinder-Strand, Sandbank, Liegedecks)
    • SPORTS-Area (Beachvolleyballplatz, Tchoukball, Tennis, Slackline, Motorik-Garten, Fußball, Neopren-Schwimmen)
    • 600m² Eislaufplatz für Publikumslauf/Eisstock
    • Atoll Terminal: E-Tankstelle für Autos und Bikes, 120 Fahrrad-Abstellplätze, 430 Parkplätze, Busparkplätze und Bushaltestelle

Adventure Spiel-Schiff  St. Benedikt

Rund um das neue Atoll Achensee können sich große und kleine Gäste auf das Erlebnis-Schiff St. Benedikt freuen. Das 31 Meter lange Schiff cruiste knapp 60 Jahre über den Achensee und bietet künftig Spielprogramme und Events, eingebettet in einem Kinderstrand mit Spiel- und Erlebnispark.

Architektur

Die Architektur des Atoll Achensee erinnert an einen Wassertropfen und integriert sich sozusagen „fließend“ in die Landschaft am Seeufer beim Badestrand Buchau. Diese Tropfenform, als kleinster Teil der großen Wassermenge des Achensees, ist das gestalterische Grundelement, dem der Grundriss und die schwungvolle Fassadenlinie bzw. Dachsilhouette unterworfen sind. Aufgrund des sensiblen Bauplatzes am Achensee Ufer wurde größter Wert auf eine harmonische Einbettung in die umliegende Natur gelegt. Das nachhaltige Energiekonzept der Anlage ist beispielhaft: Tiefenbrunnen und Wärmepumpen garantieren eine komplett CO2-neutrale Energiegewinnung für das gesamte Gebäude. Somit setzt das Atoll Achensee auch in ökologischer Hinsicht ein Zeichen in der Region.

Mehr zum neuen Atoll Achensee auf www.atoll-achensee.com